Planning Your Trip to Great Smoky Mountains National Park
Fly Fishing the Great Smoky Mountains National Park
Where To Stay:
Haywood County, North Carolina

Haywood County has the Blue Ridge Parkway bordering the south and the Great
Smokies and Pisgah National Forest on the northern end.  Haywood County scenery
provides an unending delight. It also includes the Nantahala Forest, the largest forest in
North Carolina. Haywood County is the home of Nantahala Gorge, a whitewater rafting

The grandeur of mountain vistas is punctuated by 14 peaks more than 6,000 feet in
elevation, such as Cold Mountain, which inspired the national bestseller and movie.
Haywood County is unique because no water flows into the county. Every stream, creek
and river in the county originates there.

Established in 1808, the 546 square miles of Haywood County include four towns —
Canton, Clyde, Maggie Valley and the county seat at Waynesville.

There are several motels located in the county.

Cabin Rentals:
There are numerous cabins for rent within the mountains of Haywood County.

Several RV sites and campgrounds are located within the county.

There are several restaurants located in Haywood County.

Fly Shops/Stores:
Waynesville Fly Shop

Links that may be helpful:
Chamber of Commerce

Copyright 2011 James Marsh