Top Tips On An Insects Stage Of Life:

1. What's a Stages of Life:
All insects go through different forms from the time they start life as an egg until
they die as a fully grown insect. These changes are the process of metamorphosis,
a big long word we will soon get to and make so simply you will be ashamed you
didn't already know it, provided you didn't. These changes in different forms are
called the Stages of Life. It is kind of like our own stages of life. We are babies,
small children, kids, teenagers, young men and women, middle aged people, or old
goats like yours truly. With insects, it is the egg, the larva, subimago, pupa and
adult. Don't freak out over another funny work - subimago. We will make that as
simple as dirt for you shortly. Just remember, insects go through different stages of
life and the trout may eat them in any one or all of their stages of life.

2. The Egg Stage of Life:
I am not certain just how many insect eggs are eaten by trout. All I know for sure is
that if I tried to tie a fly to imitate an insect egg, I couldn't find a hook small enough
to tie it on. Even if I could, I couldn't see the fly I tied. Insect eggs are little biddie
things. Lets just forget the eggs.

3. The Larva Stage of Life:
I guess some of your remember this word from high school biology. All insects have
this stage of life. It's the stage they change to from an egg. The larval stage is
going to be followed by the adult stage, or a transitional stage of life, one or the
other. Trout eat some of the insects in their larval stage and some they don't. A
mayfly nymph is the common name for the mayfly's larval stage of life. A nymph is
one type of larva.

4. Subimago Stage of Life:
Here's that funny word we will make simple as dirt. Well, maybe not quite that simple
because it is a unique transitional stage that is found only in mayflies. It comes
between the larval stage and the adult stage of life of the mayfly. In fact, lets just
make it so simple that we forget about it. It isn't going to affect our fly fishing for
trout. How is that, for simple.

5. The Pupa Stage of Life:
This is another transitional stage of life, but it only occurs in the newest, latest
insects, or those insects that showed up on earth since Mobby Dick was a minnow
or something like that. Let's just say only some of the insects have this stage of life.
Caddisflies do and mayflies don't, for example, but we will get to that in a few days
or so. Just remember, there's a pupa stage of life. By the way, some pupae are
free-living and some are encased in a cocoon, but we will get to that later also.

6. Adult Insect:
The adult stage of life of an insect is the grown stage of the insect. An insect
becomes an adult either from a pupa or a larva, depending on the particular insect.
For example, a stonefly becomes an adult "flying" stonefly directly from a larva. A
caddisfly becomes an adult or "flying" caddisfly from a pupa. We will get into the
specific insects later.

7. The Big Word Metamorphosis:
Metamorphosis is a process in which insects physically develop. There are two
types of metamorphosis -complete metamorphosis and incomplete metamorphosis.
Incomplete metamorphosis refers to those insects that don't have a pupa stage of
life. Complete metamorphosis refers to those insects that have a pupa stage of life.
For example, a caddisfly undergoes complete metamorphosis and a stonefly
undergoes incomplete metamorphosis.

Copyright 2009 James Marsh